January’s Online Short: AGAINST REINHEITSGEBOT

Jewish Film Institute
2 min readJun 21, 2017

--

December 28, 2016

The day her husband passes away Sarale’h, a Holocaust survivor, wishes to carry on with her daily routine of brewing beer, just as she and her husband used to do. However, her daughter Gal is not pleased and demands that they sit shiva, the customary seven-day mourning period in Judaism, out of respect for the deceased and in keeping with tradition. Sarale’h strictly refuses to mourn.

Dir. Adam Souriano, Israel, 2016, 9 min, Hebrew w/ English subtitles.

Q&A with director Adam Souriano

What inspired you to make this film?

My family. Specifically the relationship between my mother and my elder brother. Sarale’h, the main character, is based on a relative of mine, a holocaust survivor. Before passing away, my beloved grandfather told me “family unity is the most important thing”. This film is my tribute to that.

What was your greatest challenge during the filmmaking process?

It was extremely challenging to find a powerful short narrative structure for that specific mother-daughter story I wanted to tell.

Any thoughts you’d like to share about screening this film in a Jewish context?

My film is about a family with conflicts and strong emotions that stem from the Jewish history and tradition. In addition to my personal pride, having my work shown in a Jewish context will enhance the specific aspect of Jewish life my film presents.

What film/media has inspired you lately?

An Israeli film, Sand Storm, (a selection of the 36th SF Jewish Film Festival).

What do you do when you’re not filmmaking?

Beer homebrewing.

Lastly, gefilte fish: delicious, or disgusting?

With my ears, eyes and nose closed — delicious!

--

--

Jewish Film Institute

The Jewish Film Institute, based in San Francisco, champions bold films and filmmakers that expand and evolve the Jewish story for audiences everywhere. jfi.org